​When You Say You Love Me

Love means many different things

To people of different colour and age.

So when you say you love me

I want us to be thinking the same things

I want us to be on the same page.

To me Love is not much about roses and rings

Not about chocolate and sweet things.

It is also not about the Hawaiian sunset and beaches

Nor how far your wallet reaches.

Love is not about biology:

“Baby, my heart beats thrice for you”

Love has nothing to do with seismology:

“Darling, you rock my world, only you”.

Love is not those words about sugar in tea, bread and butter.

Honestly honey, I don’t even know how breakfast got into the matter.

Also take note of this:

Love, to me, is not in Paris

No, Love is not in Venice

Or any other exotic cities.

Love is not defined in the song

“L is for the way you look at me..

O is for the only one I see..”

‘M not saying the songwriter is wrong.

Love is not in all those late calls and “romantic” messages

All of which, by the way, are free

Love is not even in those three magic words: “I love you”

Aka 143

Love means many different things

In all the different places I have been.

So when you say you love me

This is what I’m hoping you mean;
That your love for me

Is your choice

Your choice to stay

To stay with me

With me, all the way

Even when you know I’m imperfect and flawed

And that things won’t always go as we thought

Love is your choice to stay with me all the way.

Love is your shoulder for my tears

Your cheers for my trophies.

Your gentle hands when I stumble

Your soothing voice in my awkward silences.

Love is your integrity and honesty

It is your fidelity and unfailing loyalty.

I’m not saying I wouldn’t like

Red wine and candle light

Or fun talks and strolls at night.

But more than these, I want your heart.

Every. Single. Part

So…. Turns out you can watch a spoken word perfomance of this poem, yay!!! 

