Start Producing!

Or What to remember when all you want to do is pull up the covers in the morning.

I was on a bus with a friend a few weeks ago, and we were sharing our plans, career wise, short and long term. 

When I had talked and talked and spelled out my long list, he looked at me and said, “Mafor, I hear too many ‘I want tos’ and these are things you can and should already be doing…

I went ahead and gave my litany of excuses; I don’t have time, I don’t have a computer, I need to read more, I’m not confident yet, I need a better phone, I need money 😕… and all the while he just kept shaking his head. But I thought I did get his point. 

The title of this post came last week in a similar conversation with another friend (I know, I have awesome friends!😎), in which of course, I was giving my litany again. And in response, he pointed out how much I already had, talent inclusive and told me to start producing results with those.

So, I’ve started. By writing this post, by setting deadlines for projects I have been procrastinating on for months, by making myself accountable to people who can scold me (lovingly) when I don’t meet these deadlines.

Of course, I still need all the things I’ve listed, but as they come, they’ll serve to make output better and increase efficacy. But for now, I’ve started.

That’s all it takes. Start.
If you enjoyed this post, go right ahead and click the LIKE button. Hit SHARE too, for good measure 😉.

